Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Take the Trophy and Run by Gail Sattler


Stan and Amber have known each other a long time – from birth. They've been friends forever. Amber now owns a garden gift store and Stan owns an auto repair shop. They have settled into a familiar friendship.
Amber is a member of the local garden club, even though she's not very good at gardening. Stan helps her out, though, like he's always done.
It has become a tradition for Amber to place her gnome, Gnorman, in the garden of the winner of the garden club prize. But this year, as the club assembles in the winning garden, it becomes evident the gnome is missing – and along with it, the trophy he held.
Over the next weeks, Gnorman appears in various gardens of club members, always with a note, a clue to the next location. Stan faithfully helps Amber as they try to solve the mystery of the missing trophy and their friendship turns into something more serious.

This is probably the calmest mystery/romance I have ever read. The plot is a bit weak and the action is rather slow and repetitive. There is a little humor, but not very much. The end was kind of cute, but you knew it was coming.
If you have high blood pressure and need to remain calm while reading a novel, this one would work for you.
I have read other books by Gail and this is not her best.

This novel is one in a series about Bloomfield, following in the tradition of Mitford or Lake Wobegon. Find out more about the series here.

Gail Sattler is a prolific author and has written Mennonite fiction, Christian romance novels, devotional Bible contributions and more. She plays piano at her church, electric bass in a modern jazz band, and double bass in a concert band. She lives with her husband and three sons in Vancouver, BC. Find out more at http://www.gailsattler.com/

B & H Books, 320 pages.

I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
Post a Comment