Thursday, October 6, 2022

Your Greater is Coming by Joel Osteen

Suffering happens. Osteen does not deny it but he does give his understanding of why suffering happens. It is necessary, he says, because some levels God has for us can only be obtained after difficulties. It is sometimes how God gets us out of our comfort zone and into a new place of faith for a new opportunity in ministry or something else God has for us. He uses biblical stories as well as stories from his life and the lives of others to illustrate his teaching.

Osteen emphasizes our attitude as essential in successfully coming out the other side of suffering. He encourages readers to believe God's promises. One must believe in faith even when there is no visible evidence things have changed. “You have to be more confident in what God says than in what you see.” We must not lose heart or lose faith. Part of the test, Osteen says, is that it might get worse just before the promise is manifested.

I am glad Osteen encourages us to ultimately trust God. God has us in His palm. “Nothing can happen to you without His permission.” This is a good book to read when having difficulties although Osteen does come close to a name it and claim it kind of belief. That will not be the message if readers also keep God first, as Osteen encourages. The book is a little repetitive as Osteen covers the same idea from a number of approaches.

My rating: 4/5 stars.

You can watch the book trailer and read an excerpt here.

Joel Osteen is a New York Times bestselling author and the senior pastor of America’s largest church, Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. Millions watch his weekly inspirational messages on television and connect with Joel through his digital platforms worldwide. Joel can be heard 24/7 on SiriusXM 128—Joel Osteen Radio. Connect with Joel on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or visit his website at

FaithWords, 240 pages.

I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher. My comments are an independent and honest review.

(My star ratings: 5-I love it, 4-I like it, 3-It's OK, 2-I don't like it, 1-I hate it.)

No comments: