Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Haven's Fire by Dena Netherton Blog Tour

About the Book

Book: Haven’s Fire  
Author: Dena Netherton  
Genre: Romantic Suspense  
Release Date: April, 2019

When Dade re-emerges from the wilderness and settles in Seattle, intent on establishing a powerful cult following, Haven, Petter, and Jesse must protect their new friend, Thea, from his evil plans.

Haven Ellingson has been stalked, kidnapped, and beaten by Dade. After her escape, he continued to torment her through threats and constant pursuit. Again she was able to break free, thinking the man had finally perished. But he’s back, now intent on destroying the life of another young woman and countless, misguided followers. And Haven is having none of it. Sometimes you hide from your attacker; sometimes you stand and fight.  

Click here to purchase your copy.

My Review

This book is a good conclusion to the series, although Netherton does leave the door open for future novels involving the characters. A new character is introduced in Thea. Her story soon intersects with Haven's as Thea gets pulled into a dangerous cult lead by Haven's nemesis. Netherton has done her research, I think, and presents a realistic view of how one is taken in by a controlling leader and how that warped leader can twist Scripture to lure in susceptible people and control them. I was happy to see it also relates how people showing the true love of Christ can help those deceived. It is not an easy nor simple task, however. This is a good character driven novel exploring the psychological aspects of cult attraction in both innocent and evil people. There is a good deal of suspense included near the end as well as the possibility of a budding romance.

This is the third book in a series and I highly recommend reading the other two prior to this one. Major characters involved here originate from the previous novels and you will not be able to fully appreciate the plot until you know the entire story.

You can read my reviews of the previous novels in the series: Haven's Flight and Haven's Hope.

My rating: 4/5 stars.

About the Author

Dena Netherton has always loved the thrill of suspense-filled fiction. One day it dawned on her she could actually put down on paper her own action-packed stories and life-threatened characters that had been knocking around inside her head for decades. When she’s not writing, Dena loves to play piano and guitar, read good books, spend time with people, and hike the Cascade Mountains. Dena is active in her church as a musician, leader in Women’s Ministry, and director of a women’s prayer ministry. She also volunteers at a Crisis Pregnancy Center. She and her husband live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Find out more about Dena’s books through her website and newsletter:  

More from Dena

Haven’s Fire is the third and final installment of the suspense trilogy, Hunting Haven. In the first book, Haven’s Flight, I introduced Jesse, a teenaged boy, living with the delusional Dade Colton and his common-law wife, Mama. He’s a sweet and handsome young man, but just like Haven, he’s a victim of the two abusive adults who keep him imprisoned in a remote mountain cabin, far from the influence of church or friends or schools. He puts his life on the line to help Haven escape from Dade, and as I was writing the book, I fell in love with his courageous, unselfish character. So I vowed that I would give him a bigger role in the third book. (He’s still secondary in book two, Haven’s Hope.) And since Jesse wasn’t destined to be Haven’s love, I knew I had to find a girl for him, someone worthy of him, but someone who was dealing with her own dark past. In Haven’s Fire, we get to see Jesse, now a student living in Seattle, struggle to forgive Dade and Mama for the abuse they dealt out, and to help his girl, Thea, escape the dangerous leader of a cult who is bent on controlling and abusing her. In this suspense-filled book, it will take all of Jesse’s new-found faith, his prayers, and the support of Haven and her friends to rescue Thea from walking blindly into a world of intrigue, deception, and even, murder!

Blog Stops

Carpe Diem, April 21
Multifarious, April 26
                                                           The Becca Files, May 3  

I received a complimentary digital copy of this book through Celebrate Lit. My comments are an independent and honest review. The rest of the copy of this post was provided by Celebrate Lit.


Caryl Kane said...

This series sounds like a must read. Thank you for sharing.

Emma said...

This sounds very interesting, especially since we have recently learned to know a lot of people coming out of a cult.

Deana said...

I enjoyed your review. Thanks for being on the tour.

Debbie P said...

This book sounds like a great read.